Rotating Header Image


The Tyalgum District is part of the Tweed Shire in Far Northern New South Wales. Tyalgum Village lies 22km west of the town of Murwillumbah and around 35 km from the Tweed Coast.

The geography of the region defines the Tyalgum District. Tyalgum is situated on the Oxley River. The river and its tributaries form the middle arm of the Tweed River. These streams have eroded the materials that once formed a large shield volcano of which Mount Warning (Wollumbin) was the core. The resultant broad dished valley to the north-west of the mountain defines the Tyalgum District and encompasses the areas and local communities of Byrill Creek, Brays Creek, Eungella, Pumpenbil, Tyalgum Creek. and Limpinwood. The valley is surrounded by National Parks, with Mount Warning, the McPherson Ranges, The Pinnacle and the Border Ranges being significant features.

View Larger Map